ECE ILLINOIS Facebook ECE ILLINOIS on Twitter ECE ILLINOIS Alumni and Friends on LinkedIn ECE ILLINOIS Instagram

Contact Info

Audrey LeGrande
Assistant Director of Alumni
and Student Relations
1072 ECE Building
306 N. Wright Street
Urbana, IL 61801
Phone: (217) 300-1783


We've created this space to help you stay connected with ECE ILLINOIS. We're sure you'll find it to be a great resource for information, news, and networking.

If you don't see what you need here, or if we can be of assistance in any way, don't hesitate to call us! And, as always, don't be a stranger. Use our online Stay Connected form to let us know what you're up to! Coming to campus? Send us an email.

Donate to the Building Campaign today.

Looking to fill/find a job?

Alumni, are you looking to promote a job opening, or trying to find a job for yourself? Visit:

Interested in developing a recruitment or research partnership with ECE? Visit our Corporate Partners page.

Alumni Awards

Marcia Peterman ECE Award

Marcia Peterman

Marcia Peterman began her career at Illinois in 1930 as ECE’s (then known as the Electrical Engineering Department) first clerk-stenographer. She later served as supervisor of clerical staff and as secretary and adviser to four department heads. Marcia provided help and guidance to generations of students and alumni. She retired from ECE in 1983.

To recognize Marcia's devotion to the department’s students and alumni, the ECE Alumni Association annually presents the Marcia Peterman ECE Award to a deserving alumnus in recognition of outstanding service to the department and its students, faculty and alumni. The award is presented at the Fall Alumni Awards Banquet.

To nominate a deserving ECE alumnus/alumna, please complete the nomination form.

If you would like to update or send new information to an existing nomination, you may also do so at any time. For more information, please contact Audrey LeGrande, Assistant Director of Alumni and Student Relations at or (217) 300-1783.

Past Recipients:

Year Recipient Year Recipient
2014 Denise Turic 2000 John P. Faber
2013 Vishwani Agrawal 1999 E. Nick Neckopulos
2012 Douglas Criner 1998 Peter W. Sognefest
2011 Sherel Horsley 1997 Fredric G. Nearing
2010 Todd Beanblossom 1996 M. Stanley Helm
2009 Kurt Hollenbeck 1995 John E. Farley
2008 Michael Winberg 1994 Ralph J. Henneman
2007 Richard K. Williams 1993 Mary J. Wood
2006 Jennifer T. Sterling 1992 Edward W. Ernst
2005 Daryl Farley Varney 1991 Wendell E. Miller
2004 Larry F. Altenbaumer 1990 Raymond D. Maxson
2003 Se June Hong 1989 J. Robert Middleton
2002 James J. Mikulski 1988 Robert Janowiak
2001 Gale A. Beanblossom 1987 Porter Womeldorff
    1986 Lowell Ackmann