ECE ILLINOIS Facebook ECE ILLINOIS on Twitter ECE ILLINOIS Alumni and Friends on LinkedIn ECE ILLINOIS Instagram

Contact Info

William H. Sanders
Department Head
306 N. Wright Street
Urbana, IL 61801
Ph: (217) 333-2300
Fax: (217) 244-7075

Quick Directory Search

Articles about Ilesanmi Adesida

Ilesanmi Adesida

Electrical and Computer Engineering
Ilesanmi  Adesida
Ilesanmi Adesida
217 Swanlund Administration Building
601 E. John Street
Champaign Illinois 61820
(217) 333-6677

Administrative Titles

Primary Research Area

  • Microelectronics and Photonics - Semiconductor electronic devices


Ph.D. Electrical Engineering University of California, Berkeley 1979

For more information

Research Group Home Page

Research Statement

The Nanoscale Processing and Devices Group investigates the processing of semiconductors and other materials at the nanometer scale level and applies these techniques to the realization of ultra-high speed optoelectronic devices and circuits. Electron beam lithography with novel resist materials coupled with various dry etching methods are used to achieve nanoscale patterning. The impact of processing at these dimensions are investigated on the performance of heterostructure field effect transistors, photonic, and other quantum effect devices in compound semiconductor materials such as Indium Phosphide, Gallium Nitride, and Silicon Germanium. The Group conducts research on various aspects of the fabrication of these devices including ohmic contact formation, Schottky contact formation, isolation methods. Micro/nano analytical methods are utilized to investigate material conditions needed to achieve optimum processes. Recent thrusts for the nanofabrication work are in the application area of biochemical nanotechnologies.

Nanofabrication and nanoelectromechanical systems; Electronic and transport properties of nanometer-scale semiconductor structures; High speed optoelectronic devices and integrated circuits; and Radiation Effects.

From 1987 to 2010, awarded 34 Ph.D.'s, 21 M.S.; supervised 19 Post-Doctoral Fellows; and supervised numerous undergraduate research projects. Research Funding have been received from the State of Illinois, NSF, NASA, JSEP, SRC, NIH, UIUC Research Board, UIUC-CRI, ONR, Beckman Institute, ARO, ARL, DARPA, Sandia, ETRI (Korea) and industry (KOPIN, CREE, Samsung, Intel, McDonnell-Douglas, APA Optics, TRW, ATMI/Epitronics, NZAT, SVT, Triquint, EMCORE, Sarnoff, and GTE).

Research Interests

Nanofabrication, Electronic and transport properties of ultra-low dimensional semiconductor structures; High speed optoelectronic devices and integrated circuits; and Radiation Effects.

Research Areas

  • Nano-electro mechanical systems (NEMS)
  • Plasma devices and plasma science
  • Semiconductor electronic devices
  • Semiconductor lasers and photonic devices
  • Semiconductor materials

Teaching Honors

  • 1999 Advisors List for Advising Excellence (College of Engineering)
  • Oakley-Kunde Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Education, University of Illinois (1994)
  • 1993 Advisors List for Advising Excellence (College of Engineering)
  • Certificate of Recognition as Faculty Mentor for Minority Students (1992)
  • Certificate of Recognition as a Finalist for the Oakley-Kunde Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Education (University-wide)

Research Honors

  • Fellow, Optical Society of America (2004)
  • Fellow, American Vacuum Society (2004)
  • Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (2003)
  • Associate Member, Center for Advanced Study, UIUC (2000-2001)
  • Fellow, IEEE (1998)
  • Best Paper Award, Micro- and Nano-Engineering (Europe) (1997)
  • University Scholar, UIUC (1997)
  • Distinguished Lecturer, IEEE Electron Device Society (1997 - 2006)
  • Member, Bohmische Physical Society (1988)
  • Electron Microscopy Society of America (EMSA) Student Presidential Award (1978)