ECE ILLINOIS Facebook ECE ILLINOIS on Twitter ECE ILLINOIS Alumni and Friends on LinkedIn ECE ILLINOIS Instagram

Department Contact Info:

306 N. Wright Street
Urbana, IL 61801
Ph: (217) 333-2300
Fax: (217) 244-7075

ECE Directory
Department Service Areas

Expert Search

View Featured Expert Interviews

Facebook for Prospective Students

Graduate Study Manual

Graduate Student Awards

C.R. Allen International Student Award

Established 1973

Clifton Royal Allen

Mr. Clifton Royal Allen was born in Missouri in 1881, one of seven children. He received a law degree from the University of Southern California in 1911, having been a member of the USC football team. He practiced law in southern California for over forty years. Mr. Allen was a leader of his community and church throughout his life. He was a member of the Masonic Lodge, and was active in local Boy Scouts, receiving his first Silver Beaver award in Orange County, California. Mr. Allen passed away in February 1965, on the eve of the day he was to meet an Asian student he was sponsoring for graduate engineering study in the United States.

Mr. Allen gave a generous private scholarship of $2,000 to the student, who attended the EE (now ECE) Department of the University of Illinois and completed his PhD in 1969. Out of gratitude to Mr. Allen and to the University of Illinois which supported his study with a research assistantship, the former student wishes to dedicate in memory of Mr. C. R. Allen this scholarship for qualified foreign ECE Department graduate students. It is hoped that the recipients of this award will in turn help future students by contributing to this fund as they are able.


This award was set up to perpetuate the memory of Mr. Allen's generosity to international students. The donor has agreed that we should change this from a grant to an award which will be based on merit first and financial need second.


In order to be eligible for this award a student must meet the following criteria:

a. The student must be an international graduate student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
b. The student must have demonstrated outstanding research potential in his/her area.
c. The student must have demonstrated academic excellence in his coursework.
d. Financial need, as a result of a family to support, lack of funding, etc. will be taken into consideration.


The on-line application forms will be advertised on My.ECE. The ECE Fellowship Committee meets to go over the applications and select the recipient. A complete application should consist of the student's resume, his/her list of publications, and two letters of recommendation (one from the research advisor) which should be e-mailed to Katie Beard ( Applications will be due in February.


The recipient receives a check for $2,000 and is recognized at the annual ECE Awards Banquet in April.


Year Recipient
2013 Hsin-Yu Wu
2012 Ali Khanafer
2011 Feng Xiong
2010 Tung Le
2009 Lae-Hoon Kim
2008 Girish Varatkar
2007 Behzad Sharif
2006 Hongxia Shen
2005 Allen Yang Yang
2004 Sai Hu
2003 Bing-Ruey Wu
2002 Orhan Imer
2001 Kuo-Lih Chang
2000 Gurdal Arslan
1999 Song Wang
1993 Kumar Ganapathy
1990 Prakash Narain
1984 Anup Behera
1983 Hong Fan
1982 Terence Chan
1973 Umit Ozguner