ECE ILLINOIS Facebook ECE ILLINOIS on Twitter ECE ILLINOIS Alumni and Friends on LinkedIn ECE ILLINOIS Instagram

Department Contact Info:

306 N. Wright Street
Urbana, IL 61801
Ph: (217) 333-2300
Fax: (217) 244-7075

ECE Directory
Department Service Areas

Expert Search

View Featured Expert Interviews

Facebook for Prospective Students


Joan and Lalit Bahl fellowship

Established 2008


The fellowship was established by Dr. Lalit R. Bahl and Kavita Kinra and will provide graduate fellowships to students in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department. Each award will be in the amount of $20,000. The fellowship may be renewed for one additional academic year if the recipient remains in good academic standing and is making adequate progress toward degree completion.


  • Applicants must not be graduating before May of the next calendar year.
  • Academic performance as demonstrated by (but not restricted to) coursework and grades, recommendations, and previous recognition (awards).
  • Preference will go to students whose families reside in India or who originated in India.
  • Applicants must not be graduating before May of the next calendar year.

Selection Process:

The ECE Fellowship committee will make the selection based on the applications submitted by the deadline.

Past Recipients of the Award:

School Year Recipient
2013-2014 Karthik Balasundaram
Shyamala Devi Malagari
Sabareesh Ravikumar
2012-2013 Sujeeth Bharadwaj
Jonathan Ligo
Saurav Mohapatra
2011-2012 Tejaswi Gorti
Abhishek Singh
2010-2011 Arjun Kripanidhi
2009-2010 Sudipta Dutta
Arjun Kripanidhi
2008-2009 Sudipta Dutta