ECE ILLINOIS Facebook ECE ILLINOIS on Twitter ECE ILLINOIS Alumni and Friends on LinkedIn ECE ILLINOIS Instagram

Department Contact Info:

306 N. Wright Street
Urbana, IL 61801
Ph: (217) 333-2300
Fax: (217) 244-7075

ECE Directory
Department Service Areas

Expert Search

View Featured Expert Interviews

Facebook for Prospective Students


James M. Henderson Fellowships For First Year Graduate Students

In Electrical Engineering - Established 1999


In 1999, a fund was set up by Mrs. Joan K. Henderson in memory of her husband who received his B.S. in Electrical Engineering at UIUC in 1947. The fellowship was established to recognize an outstanding first-year graduate student in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. The fellowship will be awarded based upon the nominee's undergraduate academic achievement, as well as leadership in activities or research as an undergraduate. The fellowship consists of a $5,000 stipend.


The awardees are selected using the following criteria:
  • The recipient must be a first-year graduate student in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
  • The recipient must have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement in their undergraduate program.
  • The recipient must have demonstrated leadership in activities or research while an undergraduate student.
  • Applicants must not be graduating before May of the next calendar year.


Applications for the fellowship may be submitted online. The application period will be advertised on My.ECE during the Spring semester.

Selection Process:

The ECE Fellowship committee will make the selection based on the applications submitted by the deadline.

Past Recipients of the Award:

School Year Recipient
2013-2014 Xiong Kai Benjamin Chng
Tiantian Tang
2012-2013 Joseph Silvers
Shaileshh Bojja Venkatakrishnan
2011-2012 Sujeeth Bharadwaj
Xichen Jiang
2010-2011 Vikram Chaudhery
Quan Geng
2009-2010 David Jun
Rui Wu
2008-2009 Siva Gorantla
2007-2008 Venkata Annapureddy
2006-2007 Aaron Becker
Bernard Ghanem
2005-2006 Forest P. Dixon
2004-2005 Maha El Choubassi
2003-2004 Tyrone Roach
2002-2003 Vamshidhar Kommineni
2001-2002 Daniel Grasso
2000-2001 Josh Conway