ECE ILLINOIS Facebook ECE ILLINOIS on Twitter ECE ILLINOIS Alumni and Friends on LinkedIn ECE ILLINOIS Instagram

Department Contact Info:

306 N. Wright Street
Urbana, IL 61801
Ph: (217) 333-2300
Fax: (217) 244-7075

ECE Directory
Department Service Areas

Expert Search

View Featured Expert Interviews

Facebook for Prospective Students


Linda Su-Nan Chang Sah Doctoral Fellowship

Established 2006


The fellowship was established in honor of Linda Su-Nan Chang Sah and in memory of Dorothy Wallace Everitt and William Littell Everitt, and will provide a graduate fellowship to an outstanding female PhD candidate in electrical and computer engineering, or a related field, who is specializing in microtechnology or nanotechnology related to bioengineering, biophysics, or medical electronics. Each award will be in the amount of $20,000. The fellowship may be renewed for two additional academic years if the recipient remains in good academic standing and is making adequate progress toward degree completion.


  • Applicants must not be graduating before May of the next calendar year.
  • Academic performance as demonstrated by (but not restricted to) coursework and grades, recommendations, and previous recognition (awards).
  • Demonstrated research interest in specializing in microtechnology or nanotechnology related to bioengineering, biophysics, bioelectronics, medical engineering, medical physics, and medical electronics.
  • Applicant must be willing to accept an appointment to teach during the tenure of the fellowship, dependent on the needs of the Department.
  • Research accomplishments, ability or potential as evidenced by publications, presentations, and letter(s) of recommendation.


  • Application cover sheet.
  • Student vita or dossier specifying previous education, work experience, research experience, publications, presentations and relevant service.
  • Transcripts or equivalent listings of undergraduate and graduate courses and grades.
  • A one page essay relating to the career goals of the applicant.
  • A letter of recommendation from faculty research advisor.

Selection Process:

A call for applications is extended to faculty beginning in February each year.

Past Recipients of the Award:

School Year Recipient
2014-2015 Samantha Knoll
2013-2014 Helen Hwang
2012-2013 Hannah DeBerg
Helen Hwang
2011-2012 Hannah DeBerg
Sherine George
Helen Hwang
2010-2011 Sherine George
2009-2010 Vasilica Crecea
Sherine George
2008-2009 Felice Cheng
Vasilica Crecea
2007-2008 Felice Cheng
Vasilica Crecea
2006-2007 Felice Cheng
Chiun-Lung Tsai