ECE ILLINOIS Facebook ECE ILLINOIS on Twitter ECE ILLINOIS Alumni and Friends on LinkedIn ECE ILLINOIS Instagram

Department Contact Info:

306 N. Wright Street
Urbana, IL 61801
Ph: (217) 333-2300
Fax: (217) 244-7075

ECE Directory
Department Service Areas

Expert Search

View Featured Expert Interviews

Facebook for Prospective Students

Undergraduate Scholarships and Awards

P.R. Egbert Memorial Award

Established 1985

P.R. Egbert

Paul R. Egbert

Paul R. Egbert received his B.S. in Electrical Engineering with high honors in 1936 from the University of Illinois. After working at Commonwealth Edison Company, where he got extensive on the job experience in power engineering, he returned to UIUC and received an M.S. in Electrical Engineering in 1949. He joined the University of Illinois in 1949 as an Assistant Professor, and became an Associate Professor in 1951.

He was a counselor of the student branch of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers for over eight years and served on the Assembly Hall Advisory Board for three years. He served a three-year term on the Illini Union Board and was its chairman for two years.

Professor Egbert was a registered professional engineer in Illinois and was a member of the IEEE, Eta Kappa Nu, Pi Mu Epsilon, and Sigma Phi Delta. Mr. Egbert retired from the University of Illinois in 1979. He died Nov. 3, 1985.


This award was established to honor the memory of Paul R. Egbert, a member of the electrical engineering faculty for 33 years. The award honors an outstanding undergraduate senior in the area of Power Engineering.


  1. Must be an outstanding Senior at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, enrolled in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  2. Must have demonstrated an interest in a career in Power Engineering.
  3. Must be active in outside activities such as EOH, IEEE, or HKN.

Selection Process:

Selection of the award recipient shall be made by a committee in the Power Engineering Area.


The award carries a stipend of $1,000. The award recipient is recognized at the annual ECE Awards Banquet in April. A plaque listing all recipients' names is permanently displayed in Everitt Lab.

Past Recipients of the Award:

Year Recipients    
2014 Felix Hsiao 1999 Eric Cunningham
2013 Christopher Barth
Yuchen Hughes
1998 Brian R. Borchers
2012 Cheng Xu 1997 Kollin J. Patten
2011 Mahir Gosalia 1996 Thomas P. Wallisch
2010 Daniel Huss 1995 Stephen M. Heal
2009 Samantha Gunter 1994 Caroline M. Marzinzik
2008 Gregory Eakins 1993 Scott A. Splater
2007 Andrew Friedl 1992 Douglas R. Brown
2006 Scott Donahue 1991 Kris R. Kozielek
2005 Thomas Abram 1990 Roy A. McCann
2004 David O. Savageau 1989 Jennifer Sterling
2003 Brett M. Nee 1988 Thomas M. Weber
2002 Piotr K. Kondratko 1987 Alexander C. Crossman
2001 Michael A. Vaughn 1986 Laureen M. Harvath
2000 Ryan E. Berube