ECE ILLINOIS Facebook ECE ILLINOIS on Twitter ECE ILLINOIS Alumni and Friends on LinkedIn ECE ILLINOIS Instagram

Department Contact Info:

306 N. Wright Street
Urbana, IL 61801
Ph: (217) 333-2300
Fax: (217) 244-7075

ECE Directory
Department Service Areas

Expert Search

View Featured Expert Interviews

Facebook for Prospective Students

Undergraduate Scholarships and Awards

E.C. Jordan Award

Established 1979

E. C. Jordan

Edward Jordan

Edward C. Jordan was born in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, on Dec. 31, 1910. He received the BS degree in 1934 and MS degree in 1936 from the University of Alberta, and the Ph.D. degree at The Ohio State University in 1940. Upon completing his doctoral degree, he served one year as instructor at Worcester Polytechnic Institute. He returned to Ohio State University in 1941, where he was an instructor, assistant professor, and consultant to the Antenna Laboratory from 1941 to 1945. In 1945, he followed his mentor, William L. Everitt, to the University of Illinois.

At the University of Illinois, Dr. Jordan served as associate professor from 1945 to 1947, professor from 1947 to 1979, director of the Radio Direction Finding Laboratory from 1946 to 1954, and director of the Antenna Laboratory from 1950 to 1954. In 1954, he was named Head of the Department of Electrical Engineering, in which capacity he served for 25 years until his retirement in 1979.

Ed Jordan authored or edited nine books and published numerous technical articles. His popular textbook, Electromagnetic Waves and Radiating Systems, was first published in 1950 by Prentice-Hall. A second edition, co-authored with K.G. Blamain, was published in 1968. At the time of his death, he was editing the eighth edition of Reference Data for Engineers: Radio Electronics, Computers, and Communications for Howard W. Sams & Co., Inc., publishers.

Jordan received many honors in his career. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering and a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). He received the prestigious IEEE Education Medal and the Stanley H. Pierce Award at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He also received the Alumni Honor Award for Distinguished Service in Engineering 1986 from the UIUC College of Engineering, the George Sinclair Award from Ohio State University in 1988, and the Professional Achievement Award from the University of Alberta in 1988.

Edward C. Jordan passed away on Oct. 18, 1991.


These awards have been established to recognize the many contributions to our department by Professor E.C. Jordan who served as Head of this department for 25 years prior to his retirement in 1979. It is expected that several recipients will be selected each year.


  1. You must be a student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, enrolled in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  2. Must be a Senior in ECE within one year of graduation at the time the award is made.
  3. Must have demonstrated academic excellence, as determined by the department.
  4. Must have demonstrated excellence of individual effort in some area of electrical or computer engineering research.


Faculty are asked to nominate outstanding students to their area committee chairmen. The area committees will select a recipient and forward the nomination to the Award Committee for the final selection. These are the research areas in the Department:

  1. Bioengineering, Acoustics, and Magnetic Resonance Engineering
  2. Circuits and Signal Processing
  3. Computational Science and Engineering
  4. Computer Engineering
  5. Communication and Control
  6. Electromagnetics, Optics, and Remote Sensing
  7. Microelectronics and Quantum Electronics
  8. Power and Energy Systems


The award carries a stipend of $2,000. The recipient is presented with the stipend check at the annual ECE Award Banquet in April. The name of the recipient is engraved on a plaque to be displayed permanently in Everitt Lab.


Year Recipients Year Recipients
2014 Andrew Morrison
Samuel Buercklin
Ying Ou
Jie Lv
Haichuan “Charles” Yu
2002 Peter Albrecht
Jeremy Bredfeldt
Steve Ferrera
Stephen Kohen
Piotr Kondratko
David Petruncio
Patrick Toops
2013 Yujia Zhang
Ian Wetherbee
Danyang Zhuo
Chenyang Zu
David Zeng
2001 Michael Arnold
Joseph Comberiate
Nathaniel Hakes
Frederick Koopmans
Ken Schutte
Jennifer Talmadge
2012 Matthew Artus
Se-Joon Chung
Seung Hyun Kim
Fang Wan
Ruoyu Zhu
2000 George M. Gemelos
Samantha Sutton
Monika Tkaczyk
Jason R. Wells
David Wentzlaff
2011 Jared Carter
Paul Froeter
Fan-Chung Hsu
Feifei Lian
Aaron Medsker
Richard Muryanto
Dongeek Shin
Gautam Shine
1999 David P. Crook
Jessica Huang
Hillery C. Hunter
Robert J. Parkinson
Dimitrios Thiakos
2010 Jacob Block
Xiangyu Ding
Martin McCormick
1998 Jeffrey A. Butts
Thad A. Heinold
Kirsten J. Hylle
Michael P. Stout
Eric R. Whisler
2009 Ryan Finnin
Dan Hu
Man Ling Lo
David Rockwood


Steven M. Carroll
Andrew C. Dalton
Michael L. Hattendorf
Jacob F. Jensen
Peter A. Learn
John W. Sias
Aaron J. Stillman
Kevin J. Yang
2008 Gregory Colombo
Alex Dapore
Vincent Dorgan
Erik Johnson
Andrew O'Connell
Jong-Sun Yi

Peter H. Chou
Mark C. Hersam
Alan Y. Hsu
Jacob W. Janovetz
Eugene Khutoryansky
Scott R. Lenser
Matthew C. Merten
Michael S. Thiems

2007 Benedikt Graf
Nickolaus Mueller
Jason Chang
Praveen Bommannavar
Mark Murphy
Michael Daly
Daniel Quek
Jekwon Yoon
Brian Lynn

Prabal Chakrabarti
Peter D. Dragic
Robert L. Henson
Tuan A. Nguyen
David E. Pearah
Michael C. Wei

2006 Suhail Barot
Priyanka Bhandari
Guy Bresler
Steven Judd
David Kaplan
Myra Nam
Grace Wang
1994 Richard J. Barron
Jonathan D. Litao
James E. McCormick
Robert L. Shimon
Marc W. Slutzky
2005 Ting Feng Toh
Daniel Chen
Jack Ingram
Matthew Hendrickson
Hari Kannan
Dianna Liu
William Snodgrass
1993 Pablo V. Mena
Jee M. Ku
Shawn M. Herman
Robert M. Lammert
Tim G. Roethemeyer
2004 Graham Alvey
Daisy Chen
Jason Ching
John King
Han-Jo Ko
Nicholas McDonnell
Tian Yee Wu


David E. Beckman
Mark J. Laufenberg
Michael S. Lupescu
Bruce C. Stotts
Chin Hwee Tan

2003 Dane Barhoover
Matt Chuang
Robert Farrell
Richard Kujoth
Mariya Lazebnik
David Lytle
Stanley Mlekodaj
Akshay Naheta


John W. Bockhaus
Wayne H. Bradley
Franklin D. Bristol
Glenn Chin Chao
Amanda J. Watson

    1990 Stephen A. Boppart
Roy A. McCann
Jeffrey L. Tucker

Other Past Recipients