ECE ILLINOIS Facebook ECE ILLINOIS on Twitter ECE ILLINOIS Alumni and Friends on LinkedIn ECE ILLINOIS Instagram

Department Contact Info:

306 N. Wright Street
Urbana, IL 61801
Ph: (217) 333-2300
Fax: (217) 244-7075

ECE Directory
Department Service Areas

Expert Search

View Featured Expert Interviews

Facebook for Prospective Students

Undergraduate Scholarships and Awards

Eta Kappa Nu Outstanding Junior Award

Established in 1904

Eta Kappa Nu Logo

Eta Kappa Nu

Eta Kappa Nu Alpha Chapter was established in 1904 by Mr. Maurice L. Carr, the founder of Eta Kappa Nu. HKN is the International Honor Society for Electrical Engineers. There are over 200 chapters today and still growing. Outstanding persons are elected to Eta Kappa Nu primarily from the junior and senior classes of accredited undergraduate programs. Graduate Students and distinguished professional engineers are also eligible. Eligibility, naturally, must depend on marked ability, as evidenced by scholarship, personal character, useful voluntary services, and distinguished accomplishments, all of which indicate that the candidate will be or is a success in his profession.

While one of its purposes certainly is the stimulation and reward of scholarship, Eta Kappa Nu has a far broader purpose than merely to award a badge of distinction to scholars. As conceived by its founders and as carried forward by its membership during more than two generations, another aim is to assist its members throughout their lives in becoming better professionals as well as better citizens. In turn, it is still another purpose of the organization, that its members be a constructive force, helping fellow members and non-members alike to improve the standards of the profession, the courses of instruction, and the institutions generally where its chapters are established.


The Outstanding Junior competition is conducted each academic year by the Alpha Chapter of Eta Kappa Nu to honor one member of the junior class in electrical and computer engineering.


  1. You must be a student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, enrolled in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  2. Must be a Junior in ECE.
  3. Must have maintained a high scholastic average
  4. Must have distinguished himself or herself as a leader in college or professional activities.
  5. Must be able to perform in social as well as in work situations in a manner that favorably reflects the institution he or she represents. This requires personality, hard work, and the ability to apply one's knowledge and experience.


Qualified applicants may fill out a questionnaire available in the HKN office or may be nominated by faculty during Spring semester.


  1. Review of academic grades
  2. Faculty nominations
  3. Preliminary selection by a student committee (which does not include any eligible juniors)
  4. Final selection by a student-faculty committee


The chosen Outstanding Junior is honored with a plaque at the semi-annual Eta Kappa Nu Initiation Banquet.


Year Recipients Year Recipients

Not awarded

2000 Hanching Fuh

Not awarded

1999 George Gemelos

David Goldstein

1998 Ashish Pandya
Samantha Sutton

Jacob Mass

1997 Poojan Wagh

Joanna Kwak

1996 William Terrill

Christopher Li

1994 Amit Dhawan
2008 I-Ru Chen 1993

Prabal Chakrabart

2007 Daniel Joe 1992 Andrew D. Skale
2006 Wilson Yum 1991 Bryan D. Robb
2005 Nikhil Pandit 1990 G. Matthew Murphy
2004 Ting Feng Toh 1989 Steven A. Boppart
2003 Jeffrey Chieh 1988 Karim H. Tadros
2002 Akshay Naheta 1987 Ken E. Kubiak
2001 Ray Liu