ECE ILLINOIS Facebook ECE ILLINOIS on Twitter ECE ILLINOIS Alumni and Friends on LinkedIn ECE ILLINOIS Instagram

Department Contact Info:

306 N. Wright Street
Urbana, IL 61801
Ph: (217) 333-2300
Fax: (217) 244-7075

ECE Directory
Department Service Areas

Expert Search

View Featured Expert Interviews

Facebook for Prospective Students

Undergraduate Scholarships and Awards

Oakley Scholarships in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Established 1995

The Oakley Family of Quincy, Ill., set up these scholarships in 1994 under the suggestion of Prof. Burks Oakley, II, who at the time was the Undergraduate Adviser in the Department. In his position as adviser, Dr. Oakley came in contact with many outstanding undergraduate students. All merit scholarships in the Department were earmarked for Juniors or Seniors. The Oakley family established these scholarships to honor sophomores that had shown outstanding academic merit and leadership.


These scholarships were established to recognize and reward outstanding sophomores in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department who have been active in outside activities. Preference is to be given to female students in order to encourage more women to pursue a degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering.


  1. You must be a student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, enrolled in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  2. The recipients shall have a high scholastic average.
  3. The recipients shall be sophomores in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  4. The recipients shall have participated in technical and professional societies as well as other campus and community activities.

Selection Process:

In September of each year, a list is compiled of the top women in the sophomore class. Each of these students is sent an application form for the Oakley Scholarship. The Department Scholarship and Awards Committee makes the final decision on scholarship recipients.


The scholarship carries a stipend of $1,000. The recipients are recognized at the annual ECE Award Banquet in April.

Year Recipients
2013-2014 You Guan, Asavari Tayal, Paula-Angela Mariano, Yiwei Li
2012-2013 Meruyert Mussakhanova, Sakshi Srivastava, Chuma Kabaghe, Aarti Shah
2011-2012 Jamie Barber, Hanjing Gao, Yugi Li, Liana Nicklaus, Shivani Singh, Yu Zhong
2010-2011 Lindsey King, Genevieve LaBelle, Yaning Liang, Tuo Liu, Charishma Puliyanda, Yuchen Zhu
2009-2010 Sierra Campbell, Thidarat Chongvisal, Shreya Prakash, Ekta Shah
2008-2009 Kristine Barias, Christine Chan, Alisha Gryniewicz, Feifei Lian, Ximeng Liu
2007-2008 Caroline Murdoc,h Anjali Sridhar, Sukhada Palkar, Jane Tu
2006-2007 Janis Lee, Serena Liou, Jun Song, Yanzhu Wang
2005-2006 Pratyusha Nidamaluri, Catherine Wah, Elaine Wah, Feifei Xue
2004-2005 Yee Lin Koh, Leonor Linares, Manjari Narayan, Christine Placek, Renata Revelo, Yuting Wu
2003-2004 Pavlina Akritas, Ashleigh Brubaker, Toan Shing Shen, Salma Thalji, Grace R. Woo
2002-2003 Cynthia Chang, Sophia Kang, Dianna Liu, Dominique Low, Angela Wang
2001-2002 Laurel Bolhouse, Daisy Chen, Caroline Fabbrini, Solveigh Raske, Katherine Sutton
2000-2001 Anjalie Kumar, Lindsay Kusmierek, Solveigh Raske, Becky Westendorf
1999-2000 Meghan P. Bradley, Mary B. Cain, Ann C. Lehman
1998-1999 Judy Feng, Lisa A. Litherland, Marci L. Meingast
1997-1998 Hillery C. Hunter, Samantha C. Sutton
1996-1997 Kirsten J. Hylle
1995-1996 Danielle J. Smith
1994-1995 Meghan Thornton