ECE ILLINOIS Facebook ECE ILLINOIS on Twitter ECE ILLINOIS Alumni and Friends on LinkedIn ECE ILLINOIS Instagram

Department Contact Info:

306 N. Wright Street
Urbana, IL 61801
Ph: (217) 333-2300
Fax: (217) 244-7075

ECE Directory
Department Service Areas

Expert Search

View Featured Expert Interviews

Facebook for Prospective Students

Undergraduate Scholarships and Awards

Harriet and Robert Perry Scholarships

Established 1997


These scholarships are given to top students in Electrical and Computer Engineering as the result of a gift from Robert and Harriett Perry. Mr. Perry, who died December 1997, was a 1932 graduate of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.


The recipients must be juniors or seniors at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign enrolled in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering with an outstanding scholastic record.

Selection Process:

In September the Department distributes scholarship data forms to students in the top 10% of the junior class and the top 10% of the senior class. The Scholarship Committee then reviews the scholarship data forms and identifies the students to receive the award.


The recipients receive scholarshipsof $2,000 and are recognized at the annual ECE Awards Banquet in the spring.

Year Recipients
2013-2014 Daniel Petrisko, Michael Chmiel
2012-2013 Roberto Francisco Suarez Valle, Manan Raval
2011-2012 Wanya Huang, Sai Ma
2010-2011 Chun Yang
2009-2010 Chia-Lun Chang, Thung Han Hee
2008-2009 Craig McIntyre, Ariel Moctezuma
2007-2008 Mengzhu Bai, Justin Czarnowski
2006-2007 Andrew Millard, Daniel Joe
2005-2006 Adam Crandall, Jeff Culinane, Jakub Szefer
2004-2005 Matthew Hansen, Dominic Siriani, Katelyn Tobin
2003-2004 Sophia Kang, Dianna Liu
2002-2003 Justin Haldar, David Stears
2001-2002 Mark D. Lippmann, Tushar N. Patel
2000-2001 Brian C. Kominiarek, Anne Y. Woo
1999-2000 Stephen M. Govenar; Monika J. Tkaczyk
1998-1999 Patrick R. Eaton; Todd J. Mills; Brian S. Niebuhr
1997-1998 Shahid Rashid