ECE ILLINOIS Facebook ECE ILLINOIS on Twitter ECE ILLINOIS Alumni and Friends on LinkedIn ECE ILLINOIS Instagram

Department Contact Info:

306 N. Wright Street
Urbana, IL 61801
Ph: (217) 333-2300
Fax: (217) 244-7075

ECE Directory
Department Service Areas

Expert Search

View Featured Expert Interviews

Facebook for Prospective Students

Undergraduate Scholarships and Awards

Professor N. Narayana Rao Scholarship

Established 2011


This scholarship was established in honor of Professor N. Narayana Rao, who served as a faculty member in the ECE Department from 1965 until his retirement in 2007.


  1. The recipient must be a student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, enrolled in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  2. The recipient must be a junior or senior in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  3. The recipient must have a demonstrated scholastic excellence.
  4. The recipient must distinguished themselves through meaningful service to the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and broader college and campus community.

Selection Process :

In September the Department distributes scholarship data forms to students in the top 10% of the junior class and the top 10% of the senior class. The Scholarship Committee then reviews the scholarship data forms and identifies the students to receive the award. The award is to be renewed annually, providing the recipients continue to meet the scholarship criteria established by the College of Engineering.


The recipients receive $1,000 scholarships and are recognized at the annual ECE Awards Banquet in the spring.

Year Recipients
2013-2014 Akshay Malik
2012-2013 Jun Min Leonard Lim, Zeqiu Wu