ECE ILLINOIS Facebook ECE ILLINOIS on Twitter ECE ILLINOIS Alumni and Friends on LinkedIn ECE ILLINOIS Instagram

Department Contact Info:

306 N. Wright Street
Urbana, IL 61801
Ph: (217) 333-2300
Fax: (217) 244-7075

ECE Directory
Department Service Areas

Expert Search

View Featured Expert Interviews

Facebook for Prospective Students

Undergraduate Scholarships and Awards

Barbara H. and Brian L. Renwick Electrical Engineering Scholarship

Established 2006


Barbara and Brian Renwick provided funds for this scholarship to support outstanding students in ECE who are working in the power area.


The recipients must be juniors or seniors in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign with an outstanding scholastic record. Recipients must be citizens of the United States. Preference is given to students in power engineering.

Selection Process:

In September the ECE Department distributes scholarship data forms to students in the top 15% of the junior class and the top 15% of the senior class. The Scholarship Committee then reviews the scholarship data forms and identifies the students to receive the award. Up to two students may be selected.


The scholarship carries a stipend of $2,000. The recipient is recognized at the annual ECE Awards Banquet in April.

Year Recipients
2013-2014 Daniel Chen, Alex Dalton
2012-2013 Savan Kadakiya, Felix Hsiao
2011-2012 Matthew Artus, Nicholas Cialdella
2010-2011 Yi Cheng, Dominic Ortigara, Nicholas Weidman
2009-2010 Roshan Choxi, Eric Hofreiter, Kanishka Kumar
2008-2009 Alexander Hsieh, Bradley Kennedy
2007-2008 Aaron King