ECE ILLINOIS Facebook ECE ILLINOIS on Twitter ECE ILLINOIS Alumni and Friends on LinkedIn ECE ILLINOIS Instagram

Contact Info

Audrey LeGrande
Assistant Director of Alumni
and Student Relations
1072 ECE Building
306 N. Wright Street
Urbana, IL 61801
Phone: (217) 300-1783


We've created this space to help you stay connected with ECE ILLINOIS. We're sure you'll find it to be a great resource for information, news, and networking.

If you don't see what you need here, or if we can be of assistance in any way, don't hesitate to call us! And, as always, don't be a stranger. Use our online Stay Connected form to let us know what you're up to! Coming to campus? Send us an email.

Donate to the Building Campaign today.

Looking to fill/find a job?

Alumni, are you looking to promote a job opening, or trying to find a job for yourself? Visit:

Interested in developing a recruitment or research partnership with ECE? Visit our Corporate Partners page.

Alumni Awards

Distinguished Alumni Award

The ECE Distinguished Alumni Award honors ECE Illinois graduates who have made professional and technical contributions that bring distinction to themselves, the department, and the University. The award is presented each year at the Fall Alumni Awards Banquet.

Nomination deadline is January 23, 2015.

Nominations for the Distinguished Alumni Award are solicited annually from faculty and alumni, specifically in the fall issue of Resonance.  However, we accept ECE alumni award nominations all year.  If you would like to make a nomination at any time, please complete the nomination form.

If you would like to update or send new information to an existing nomination, you may also do so at any time.  For more information, please contact Audrey LeGrande, Assistant Director of Alumni and Student Relations, at or (217) 300-1783.


Year Recipient Year Recipient
2014 Walt J. Atkins Jr.
Nick Holonyak Jr.
Anthony T. Maher
Leon Presser
Yi-Min Wang
Richard K. Williams
2005 Raymond Chin
W. Kent Fuchs
Roger L. Johnson
Howard P. Zinschlag
2013 Supriyo Datta
Levent Gürel
Daniel F. Hang
Eric Klinker
Sunil Kumar
Edward Macoicz
2004 A. Michael Andrews, II
Gary S. Brown
John P. Hayes
Carl C. Wang
2012 Thomas Cwik
Ken Hansen
Robert Kennedy
Robert Munson
Larry S. Nixon
2003 Larry F. Altenbaumer
Edward S. Davidson
Daniel W. Dobberpuhl
Oscar L. Gaddy
Mark Shepard, Jr.
William A. Wulf
2011 Gordon Day
Joel S. Emer
Frederick A. Kish Jr.
Thomas J.J. Starr
2002 John E. Bourgoin
Charles S. Liang
William H. Steier
Donald R. Wilton
2010 Philip Chan
Maj. Gen David Eichhorn
John Orr
Daniel Schaubert
Jack Yuan-Chen Sun
Andrew Yang

2001 Gerald Marcyk
Andrew Neurether
Jack Saltich
Jerry Sanders
Joseph Verdeyen
Ping Yang
2009 Hao Ling
Dirk Meyer
Carl Panasik
Laverne Schlie
John Whitecar
2000 Jack Kilby
Chester Lob
James Mikulski
Raymond Milano
George Peterson
Eikichi Yamashita
2008 Alan Bovik
Ho Kyoon Chung
Martin Eberhard
David Yen
1999 John Cioffi
Admiral Archie Clemins
Harold Korb
Shung-Wu Lee
Yahya Rahmat-Samii
2007 Prithviraj Banerjee
Joseph W. Beyers
William M. Holt
Arvind Krishna
1998 Robert Arzbaecher
Mark Bohr
Merle Gilmore
Robert Horst
Henry Magnuski
Stephen Yau
Moshe Zakai
2006 Per K. Enge
Arvydas J. Kliore
Leon A. Newman
Michael L. VanBlaricum
Larry F. Weber
1997 Lalit R. Bahl
Floyd Dunn
David Keune
Kung C. Yeh

List of Distinguished Alumni Award Winners 1970-1996