ECE ILLINOIS Facebook ECE ILLINOIS on Twitter ECE ILLINOIS Alumni and Friends on LinkedIn ECE ILLINOIS Instagram

Contact Info

Audrey LeGrande
Assistant Director of Alumni
and Student Relations
1072 ECE Building
306 N. Wright Street
Urbana, IL 61801
Phone: (217) 300-1783


We've created this space to help you stay connected with ECE ILLINOIS. We're sure you'll find it to be a great resource for information, news, and networking.

If you don't see what you need here, or if we can be of assistance in any way, don't hesitate to call us! And, as always, don't be a stranger. Use our online Stay Connected form to let us know what you're up to! Coming to campus? Send us an email.

Donate to the Building Campaign today.

Looking to fill/find a job?

Alumni, are you looking to promote a job opening, or trying to find a job for yourself? Visit:

Interested in developing a recruitment or research partnership with ECE? Visit our Corporate Partners page.

Alumni Awards

Marcia Peterman ECE Award (2004)

In recognition of devoted and loyal service to the University of Illinois and the Alumni Association.

Larry F. Altenbaumer

Larry F. Altenbaumer

BSEE 1970
President and CEO (retired)
Illinois Power Company
Decatur, IL   62521

Larry Altenbaumer retired from Illinois Power Company after nearly thirty-four years of work covering a wide variety of responsibilities.  He joined Illinois Power in 1970 as an assistant electrical engineer and held various positions in data processing until he moved into the financial organization in 1978.  There he served in several officer-level positions, including treasurer, controller and chief financial officer.  He became president of Illinois Power in September 1999 as part of the process in which Illinois Power became a subsidiary of Dynegy, Inc., where Larry also served in the position of Executive Vice President.

Altenbaumer was a member of the ECE Alumni Board from 1988 to 2001, serving as president from 1995 to 1998.  He received the Orange and Blue Appreciation Award in 2002 and was selected as an ECE Distinguished Alumnus in 2003.